Bacon, Leek and Potato Soup

Well apologies for my absence in the blogosphere. Things have been a bit hectic here. My partner and I are in the process of signing the papers on a new flat and it’s been a nightmare trying to get guarantors and communicate with the awful credit checking agency. I mean honestly I wonder if they just get bored and fail people because they cannot be bothered doing their job. It certainly seems that way.

Then of course university is getting busy again. After spending the past few weeks in pleasantly ignoring the amount of work I knew I had due, it has been a mad dash to get through everything with enough time spare to start revision for my wonderful exams. Ah, the life of a student, ‘so easy’ they say.

In between revision and coursework I have to find time to get the house in tip top condition to be inspected by our landlord before we move out, it’s going to be tricky.

Needless to say I’ve been a little stressed.

And what do I do when I’m stressed? Where do I turn to wash away the worries and bring back a feeling of calm?

To the kitchen of course!

Soup to me is like a big hug in a bowl. It’s warm and comforting, flavourful and inviting.

So here we are. My recipe for Bacon, Leek and Potato Soup.

  • 6 rashers of Smoky Bacon
  • One medium to large sized Red Onion
  • 50g Butter
  • 3 cloves of Garlic
  • 2 thick or 3 thin Leeks, chopped
  • 4-5 medium sized floury Potatoes, quartered (I leave the skins on)
  • Parmesan Rind (Adds an extra savoury dimension to the soup)
  • 2 Bay Leaves
  • 1 tbsp Mixed Herbs
  • 1.2 litres of Chicken Stock

Start by dicing the bacon and onion and gently fry in the butter and olive oil. I like to make sure the bits of fat on the bacon are rendered down or crisp so that I don’t get chewy fat in my soup.

Next, finely dice or mince the garlic and add it to the pan.

 

 

 

 

 

Tumble in the leeks and potatoes followed by the rest of the ingredients. There should be enough liquid to cover the potatoes so add some hot water if you need more.

Bring to the boil and simmer for at least 30 minutes. The soup is good to go as soon as the potatoes are cooked but like so many things this soup gets better with time. I usually have it simmering away for an hour or so. Just before serving remove the parmesan rind and season with salt and a generous grind of fresh black pepper.

Because I’m lazy I just mash this with a potato masher before serving. The starch from the potatoes helps to thicken the soup and so you end up with a consistency that is not too smooth and not to lumpy. Though if you would like to serve this cold as vichyssoise I would suggest leaving out the bacon and blitzing the soup until totally smooth. You can add the cooked bacon after, though I’m not sure it would work as well in a cold soup.

My perfect de-stressor. What do you do to unwind?

About tasha in the kitchen

I'm a 20 year old Psychology student, in Scotland. I love food. In fact I'd go as far to say that I'm obsessed with it. Making food is incredibly therapeutic and satisfying. I can often be caught reading cookbooks before bed, or spending hours trawling food blogs. I want to share this passion and so here is my blog. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Light Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bacon, Leek and Potato Soup

  1. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe this
    site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the information!

  2. Going to try this tonight…looks yummy

  3. You can’t go wrong with bacon!

  4. This looks like lovely comfort food. I made some sugar cookies that are great comfort food :)

  5. Lisa at fLVE says:

    I will have a cup please. :)

  6. Looks and sounds yummy. I want one now, even though it’s only 9am. :)

  7. Mmmm! I could just go a bowl of that right now. I fact, I demand that you make some for me next weekend! Real comfort food, and just right for the will-it-won’t-it weather we get in Scotland in early May. Thanks for posting!

Share your thoughts...

