Blueberry and Pecan Muffins

I love making blueberry muffins. Mainly because they taste wonderful and are a great breakfast to go. But also as I can kid myself that they’re healthy because of the fruit….despite all the sugar and oil x).

A good muffin recipe can be hard to come buy. I’ve found that sometimes they’re too cakey and other times too heavy. Sometimes there’s not enough fruit or the muffin lacks a contrasting texture to the jammy fruit. I try and combat this last issue by adding chopped pecans, the nutty flavour goes really well with the blueberries.

The best part of any muffin is the crusty top. I add a sprinkle of sugar as well as some more pecans to make it extra crunchy and indulgent. I also try to make it a little more wholesome by reducing the sugar I put in the batter and by using wholemeal flour. The texture is still light and you can feel a bit less guilty.

Blueberry and Pecan Muffins, Makes 12

  • 120g Pecans (80g for inside, 30g on top)
  • 175g Plain Flour
  • 50g Wholemeal Flour
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Bicarbonate Soda
  • 130g Caster Sugar
  • 175g Blueberries (100g inside, 75g for on top)
  • 125ml Vegetable Oil
  • 125ml Buttermilk/Runny Yogurt/Milk with 1 tbsp Lemon Juice
  • 1 Egg
  • 30g Demerara Sugar (for the topping)

First grab the pecans and chop or crush them into smaller chunks.

Next put all the dry ingredients (sugar, flours, bicarbonate soda and baking powder) into a bowl with 100g blueberries and  80g pecan pieces.

Add the egg and oil to the buttermilk/yogurt/ lemon juice and milk mixture and whisk thoroughly. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ones. (Avoid splashing your camera lense with milky egg mixture :S).
Fold the mixture together taking care not to over mix as this will toughen the muffin, but also be sure that there is no dry flour remaining.

Dollop the batter evenly into the muffin cases and top with the remaining blueberries.

Next, mix the brown sugar with the pecans and scatter over the top each muffin.

Cook in the middle of the oven for 15-20 minutes at 200C, until they are a deep golden brown. A cake tester should come out reasonably clean.

These are best enjoyed warm and they get past their best after about 2 days. I tend to freeze them (for up to 2 months) and put them in the oven to defrost and warm through as I want them.

What’s your favourite muffin recipe?

About tasha in the kitchen

I'm a 20 year old Psychology student, in Scotland. I love food. In fact I'd go as far to say that I'm obsessed with it. Making food is incredibly therapeutic and satisfying. I can often be caught reading cookbooks before bed, or spending hours trawling food blogs. I want to share this passion and so here is my blog. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Light Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blueberry and Pecan Muffins

  1. Ruth says:

    For the longest time I thought blueberry muffins were the only muffins…and that all blueberries came out of a tin b/c that’s all my dad would make us growing up. I am happy to say I have since learned better. Yay for muffins!

  2. sugaredpecan says:

    These look very delicious!

  3. MMM! these look lovely. Great photos, too! I agree about the difficulty of finding a good muffin recipe – I always said I don’t like muffins, but you converted me!

Share your thoughts...

