Harry Potter Cake!

Well hello strangers,
I’ve been off the blogging scene lately and for that all I can do is apologize. But here is my next post. Unfortunately, it is brief because I didn’t take step by step pictures and it isn’t my recipe, though I will provide links a plenty 🙂

My friend turned 21 recently and in true all-grown-up style threw a Harry Potter themed party! I volunteered to do the cake, thinking I would just make the little models gradually at perhaps one a week so I could balance it with uni work. Of course that plan didn’t pan out and I ended up doing it all the day before but there you go. I’m quite proud of it as it’s the first time I’ve used modelling icing and it’s also the first proper birthday cake I’ve made for someone.

The icing was just the usual modelling icing you can buy in the shop. It stayed soft which proved annoying as it meant the models were easily damaged but it also made it easy to make last minute changes.
I used this recipe for the  Victoria Sponge cake itself.
And this recipe for white chocolate buttercream icing (very, very yummy)
I used the icing to both sandwich and cover the cake, I also put white and milk choc chips in the middle for a nice texture.
Then I mixed grated milk chocolate with cocoa powder and coated the cake to make it look more like the Forbidden Forest floor (Use the back of a spoon for the sides).

The cake! I used indoor sparklers for the wands. Notice Voldermort’s cape burning on the candles!


 

About tasha in the kitchen

I'm a 20 year old Psychology student, in Scotland. I love food. In fact I'd go as far to say that I'm obsessed with it. Making food is incredibly therapeutic and satisfying. I can often be caught reading cookbooks before bed, or spending hours trawling food blogs. I want to share this passion and so here is my blog. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Harry Potter Cake!

  1. That’s absolutely wonderful! I love the last picture with the sparkler wands doing battle, and the forest floor is great. In fact, it’s altogether a huge success, I hope your friend was very pleased with it.

  2. mydearbakes says:

    Wow, this looks so amazing! Nicely Done! =D

Share your thoughts...