VegBag Excitement…

Has anyone seen ‘Food Inc.‘?

Released in the UK February of this year, Food Inc. is a film documentary focussing on the problems of our current food system. I had to watch it for my sustainability class on food systems last week and I strongly urge anyone to give the film a try, I found it quite eye opening.

The tag-line is ‘you’ll never look at food the same way again‘ and I certainly don’t. It highlighted to me the many different chemicals that go into food to make it grow faster and to keep it fresh and imperfection free. Not to mention the welfare issues with much of the mass produced meat sold in supermarkets.

This has caused me to try and change my diet. I’m going organic. Or at least as organic as I can because so far it seems very costly and in some cases impossible to go 100% organic and still keep a varied diet.

So I started to look into vegetable bag/box schemes. There were a few that would deliver to my door which would have been convenient but a little more searching unearthed (pardon the pun) a scheme that was running right out of my university campus. The food is organic, locally sourced and all I had to do was order a week ahead and go collect it.

Perfect.

Probably the best part of getting vegetables this way is that because it’s seasonal, you’re never quite sure what you’re going to get. Back when I lived at home my mum used to get a veg box delivered and the best part was the little newsletter that told you all about the goings on of the farm and even a recipe or two suggesting ways to use the veg.

Alas, mine had no exciting newsletter but I definitely got a surprise at what was inside the bag. For £6 I was, at best, expecting some potatoes, a leafy green, some carrots and then maybe a root vegetable or two. I certainly wasn’t expecting much variety or any fruit at all.

Imagine how excited I was when I opened it up and discovered all these yummy things inside!

Savoy Cabbage, Aubergine, Carrots, Red Onions, Potatoes, Mushrooms, Sweetcorn, Beetroot, Apples, Pears and even Limes and Ginger!

My mum suggested I try bubble and squeak to use the cabbage up. Having never made bubble and squeak before I improvised and Potato Cakes probably suits the outcome better. They turned out amazingly well and were perfect for using four of the vegetables from the bag.

However, I really don’t have much clue how to use up much of the other stuff so any ideas would be great as it would be a shame to let all this veg go to waste. Any Beetroot, Lime or Aubergine recipes are especially welcome!

Find out if there’s a vegetable box scheme near you, and experience the excitement for yourself.

Bubble and Squeak/ Potato Cakes  

Makes 6

3 medium floury Potatoes, quartered (or left over mash)                                                          1 large Carrot, chopped                                    3 big leaves or 120g of Savoy Cabbage, shredded                                                               Half a Red Onion, chopped                                2 rashers of Bacon, chopped                             1 Egg                                                                 25g grated Parmesan                                         1 tablespoon of Butter (plus extra for frying)

Boil the potatoes in salted water. Once the potatoes have been boiling for about 5 minutes add the chopped carrot.

Meanwhile, gently fry the onions and bacon until the onion is soft and the bacon is cooked through. Make sure the pan is over a medium heat and add the cabbage. Stir for 1 minute then remove from the heat.

In a jug, add the parmesan to the egg, and whisk. Once the potatoes and carrots are soft, mash well and add a tablespoon of butter. Mix this until the mash is smooth and then add the egg mix, beating well to make sure it is all incorporated. Now add the cabbage, onion and bacon, again mixing well. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

You can either mould these into round flat cakes and then fry, use chef’s rings or do as I did and dollop a hefty spoonful into the pan and shape it as it cooked.

Whatever method you choose be sure to fry these in butter on a medium high heat, turning occasionally until a crust has formed on the outside, about 10 minutes.

Then they’re ready to serve as a side or a light snack. Enjoy!

 

About tasha in the kitchen

I'm a 20 year old Psychology student, in Scotland. I love food. In fact I'd go as far to say that I'm obsessed with it. Making food is incredibly therapeutic and satisfying. I can often be caught reading cookbooks before bed, or spending hours trawling food blogs. I want to share this passion and so here is my blog. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Light Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to VegBag Excitement…

  1. Jasline says:

    I’ve watched the video before and it’s so scary! It’s hard to go all organic here in Singapore because most of the produce are imported from elsewhere, driving the prices of organic food up. Watching the show makes me want to open a farm by myself so I can have control of all the chemicals going into my food!

    • That’s exactly how I felt. I really wanted to grow a few things at home but it’s hard enough to find the space for a few herb plants let alone a whole vegetable patch! hopefully more people will demand organic and the supermarkets will finally get the message, fingers crossed!

  2. Pingback: It’s our 100th Post! Let the Adventure Continue! | corkandspoon

  3. Pingback: an early christmas present « Sunday Dreamings

  4. I’ve got a recipe for beetroot and lime!
    http://www.waitrose.com/home/recipes/recipe_directory/b/beetroot_curry.html
    Beetroot’s weird stuff. A marvellous flavour, but needs a ‘cutting agent’ to counterbalanace the earthiness. Beetroot and orange is great. Beetroot and horseradish soup is brilliant – and really easy – too.
    http://highinbrixham.wordpress.com/recipes/beetroot-and-horseradish-soup/

  5. liaaaaaaaaa says:

    Autumn, I am pretty sure most organic farms in SoCal have a similar scheme, or they did three years ago when I lived there.

    Tasha are you at Aberdeen? My vegbag contents looked exactly the same couple of weeks ago 😀

  6. Hi Tasha! Wow, the veg box idea sounds amazing! I live in southern California, and I haven’t heard of anything like this in my area, but your post has inspired me to look into it. I’m also really interested in watching Food, Inc. now. If it turns out that your limes are in fact limes, and not lemons, they’d go great paired with the ginger – I love to make ginger coconut chicken and sprinkle some lime on top. Yum! 🙂

  7. CorkAndSpoon says:

    Wow, that produce looks amazing! It all looks so good it almost makes you forget about chocolate cake. Surprised there was no kale in it. Have you tried maybe an eggplant lasagna or a lime pie for the stuff you’re trying to use up? ~Ruth~

    • I was surprised at the lack of Kale too. Quite pleased though because I’ve never liked the stuff! Been wanting to make lasagne for a while, an eggplant one would be a nice change 🙂 and key lime pie sounds yummy. Though I think I’m having second thoughts as to whether they’re limes or lemons :S Will have to cut one open and see!

Share your thoughts...

