Speedy Pork Pies

So there I was with some impulse bought shortcrust pastry, reduced sausages and some bacon. All of which needed using up. I’d never tried pork pies before but I figured how hard can it be?

I skipped out the jelly, because I’m not a big fan of it anyway. Also, as I was suffering a lack of quail eggs I knew these pies would not be as fancy as those on the British Bake-Off. Sorry Paul.

But they would be so damn good

They also don’t take more than an hour or so because you don’t have to worry about making pastry or jelly or even chopping up much meat. However, as my oven is behaving rather oddly and burning things before they are cooked through even at low temperatures, I can’t be specific on the timings. Just cooking these required turning the oven off halfway through and also at one point cooking them with the oven door open… yes it is driving me crazy!

These are really good hot with tomato ketchup. I should know…I had 3…one after the other

Speedy Pork Pies Makes about 8 – 10 muffin sized pies

  • 8 good quality Pork Sausages
  • 4 rashers of Bacon
  • Half a Leek
  • Pinch of Allspice
  • 1 Tablespoon of Sage
  • Pinch of Salt
  • Pepper
  • 2 x 320g Shortcrust Pastry sheets

Start by oozing the sausages out of their skins. This can be very satisfying for some reason. Chop the bacon and leek into small pieces.

Put the sausage, bacon and leek in a bowl. Add the allspice, sage and season with salt and pepper. (I added a bit too much salt because I forgot about the saltiness of the bacon so watch out for this, a pinch is enough). Mash it all together with a fork.

Now onto the pastry. Cut out pieces of pastry for the bottom and tops of the pies. I used a muffin tin to cook the pies in, so the bottom of a coffee jar was my guide.

Fill the pies, about a 2 heaped tablespoons should be your maximum in each.

Top with lids and any decoration you wish to add, I went for the classic leaf on each one.

Finally brush with egg and pierce a hole in the lid to allow steam to escape.

About 45 mins – 1 hour at 180C should cook these about right but keep an eye on them and check the middle is cooked before eating.

.

About tasha in the kitchen

I'm a 20 year old Psychology student, in Scotland. I love food. In fact I'd go as far to say that I'm obsessed with it. Making food is incredibly therapeutic and satisfying. I can often be caught reading cookbooks before bed, or spending hours trawling food blogs. I want to share this passion and so here is my blog. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Light Dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Speedy Pork Pies

  1. Thanks for the follow:) These look so pretty and I love the little leaf on top, I just bet they were delicious as well… Now I’m home after some wine and craving those!

  2. codeineking says:

    well I know what I am going to try for dinner !! that looks savage

  3. Jay says:

    wow..sounds scrumptiously tasty…
    new to your space…excellent recipe collection with yumm cliks..
    Am your happy follower now..;)
    do stop by mine sometime..
    Tasty Appetite

  4. CorkAndSpoon says:

    Aw! Those little leaves on top are so cute! ~Ruth~

  5. They look great! A really good use of those deep panned muffin tins that had never occurred to me!
    I’ve had some disasters getting things the right SIZE. I tried individual apple pies in them once – just too much pastry (especially after the filling had bubbled out!)

Share your thoughts...

