Chocolate Orange Cheesecake

I may have been a little bit naughty and opened one my Christmas presents early… and I’m so glad I did!

My wonderful boyfriend got me this little beauty for Christmas.

Kenwood Chef

It does everything from kneading bread to making smoothies! πŸ˜€ I love it… it’s my new toy.

It has however, sent me into a baking frenzy… in the last week I’ve made Toffee apple and Blackberry muffins, Blueberry and Pecan muffins, chocolate orange cheesecake, chocolate cookies, mince pies and lots of bread.

So which recipe would you like first?

The muffin recipes need a little work as the one I used turned out muffins that were a little doughy but after some tweaking they will definitely make it on to here one day!

As we had our house Christmas last night I think it would be appropriate to post the amazing Chocolate Orange Cheesecake that Leah and I made for dessert.

It is truly divine.

Originally it was supposed to be a Jaffacake cheesecake with Jaffacake pieces between the base and filling but we only had a very shallow tin and so there wasn’t enough room (we had left over filling that we had to stash in the freezer for a rainy day). We ended up extracting the Jaffa jelly centres and sprinkling them on the base. I have to say I think the cakey parts of the Jaffacake wouldn’t have worked here anyway, so all’s well that ends well! πŸ™‚

The dried orange zest is optional but added an extra kick of tangy orange. To make dried orange zest I just put the peels on the radiator with the heating on until they dried and then crushed them to powder.

Also, we replaced the double cream with single and this made for a much lighter texture. It meant that when I got that craving for a second piece it was much easier to go for it… I’m not sure if this is such a good thing though…

This recipe is adapted from BBC Good Food and the original can be found here.

Chocolate Orange Cheesecake
Try and have the cream, cheese and mascarpone at room temperature before adding the chocolate. This should help to stop the mixture splitting.

  • 100g (about 5) chocolate digestives
  • 50g melted butter
  • 6 Jaffacake jelly pieces or a sweet marmalade would work well as an alternative
  • 400g of good quality dark chocolate (about 50-60% cocoa)
  • 284ml of single cream
  • 250g mascarpone
  • 250g full fat cream cheese
  • 1tsp orange essence
  • 2 tbsp Cointreu, other orange liqueur or orange juice
  • zest of 1 orange
  • 1/4 tsp of allspice
  • 1 tsp dried orange zest (optional)

Crush the chocolate digestives so that you have about half as dust and half small chunks.

Add the melted butter and mix until the biscuits are covered and beginning to stick together, press this mixture into a tin. The original recipe suggests using a 20cm springform tin but if you’re like us and don’t have one then just improvise (it’s how the best recipes are made!)

Chop up the pieces of jelly and sprinkle over the base.
Place in the fridge for 10-15 minutes until firm.

Melt the chocolate in a bowl over simmering water. Allow to cool slightly.

Beat together the cream, cheese and mascarpone until smooth and well combined then add the orange essence, Cointreu, zests and allspice, mixing well after each addition.

Add the chocolate to the cream bit by bit until it is all well combined.

Spoon the cream mixture onto the base and decorate as you wish. I made a sort of spiral design by holding a fork against the top of the cake while turning the plate gradually moving the fork towards the centre.

 

Chill for at least 5 or 6 hours before serving.

Try not to eat this all at once!

This is probably my favourite cheesecake recipe, let me know yours in the comments!

About tasha in the kitchen

I'm a 20 year old Psychology student, in Scotland. I love food. In fact I'd go as far to say that I'm obsessed with it. Making food is incredibly therapeutic and satisfying. I can often be caught reading cookbooks before bed, or spending hours trawling food blogs. I want to share this passion and so here is my blog. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Chocolate and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chocolate Orange Cheesecake

  1. That cheesecake sure looks great. Wish someone would buy me one of those toys! (and a food processor, and a whisk, and a zester, and a tart tine and a … oh gosh!)

  2. I love the way you’ve decorated the top, very unusual and it looks extremely inviting.

  3. I’ve never had chocolate orange cheesecake before, but yours looks delicious. I will have to give this recipe a try. Your cake looks very professional!

  4. Anna says:

    Love the swirl pattern and the mixer!

  5. trixfred30 says:

    My perfect xmas would involve getting one of these…

    • Leah says:

      It’s easy enough to make! Mind you, make sure you don’t leave the chocolate mixture to cool for too long other wise it’ll go grainy (Tasha & I made that mistake the first time round, but when I made it again & added the chocolate while it was slightly warm it was perfectly smooth.)

Share your thoughts...

